Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Hornillos del Camimo

    July 20, 2021 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    The physical therapist in Burgos help me a lot. He spent an hour hands on and then taped my ankle. I missed the 1:15 bus, so I wandered around Burgos waiting for the late bus at 6:45. It’s a very fun town to have to kill some time in. The cathedral 800 year anniversary celebrations were going strong. After a giant battle of the bands playing traditional Spanish music at the cathedral plaza, which I could hear but couldn’t get close enough to see, the bands spread out through the city singing and playing at bars for wine. See the clip below.

    I wandered back to the bus station early and found out the bus didn’t actually go to the town i wanted, but would drop me off 4 miles from the town and I would have to walk the last leg…. starting at 7:30 when it’s still 90 deg. I totally folded, took a taxi. So that’s how I lost my pilgrim purity bragging rights, And full confession, once we tried out forwarding our backpacks we have never looked back. But hey, I’m 67 freaking years old and I’m walking 500 (-12) freaking miles! Can we get a little break here?

    Met Dale at the albergue in Hornillos del Camino, had a great paella dinner, and hit the rack.
    Read more