Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Foncebadón

    July 31, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Dale took the day off walking to heal his feet, so I did the day’s walk by myself. It was a lot different experience. Early in this blog, I talked about the spiritual side of the Camino. I had a chance to think about the relationships I have developed on the walk. In particular, the deep, rich, and rewarding relationship I have developed with anti-inflamatories.

    The day was all about going uphill. The grades were mostly reasonable, not the “Spanish Switchbacks” we experienced on the Camino Norte route. We met up at Foncebadón, almost at the top of the pass we’re going over. Stayed at a nice new albergue/hotel.

    A note about weather: it’s been excellent! We had a few days in the 90’s when we first started walking, but for the last two weeks it has been upper 70’s to lower 80’s tops all the way across the Meseta. Dale says when he walked it back in 2016 it was over 90 every day (and uphill?). We have been very fortunate indeed, to get across the Meseta so comfortably. Now we’re in hill country and the climate is much milder. I know you have been having record temps back in the PNW, which seems opposite of the way it seems it should be.
    Read more