Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Sirubari, Lamjung

    January 22, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    School again today! And I felt somewhat useful this time around ;) Now that the celebrations are over at school, classes are back to normal. Classes run in 40 minute sessions from 10am to 4pm. Much more logical time for classes to run than we had in school. I suppose it's partly because those are the middle of the daylight hours and apparently some of the teachers walk from town to school everyday.. That's dedication.

    I was given an English class and a Math class to teach; though I ended up being needed for something more urgent so didn't really get to finish either. Perhaps tomorrow I'll get to finish a class ;) Today I was needed for photo taking & editing for the "Class 8" passport photos. Then I was needed for internet research on a college website that was only in English and couldn't be translated. Honestly seems to be that my greatest skills to offer are those with computers and technology. I think mostly because the operating systems and instruction manuals for everything are in English so I'm able to navigate things easily. But, it's nice to be able to help! I struggle with the English lessons though and communication I'm general, I'm reminded of how I was taught French and how it wasn't really all that successful. Learning from books and learning to read text is all good but conversations need to be had as well! I try to engage students in conversation outside of classes and some respond very well and are eager to try and understand and others have no interest. Guess that's to be expected. Anyway! My own learning of the Nepali language is not going so well. I've been studying the basics but have such a hard time picking out words during conversations, most of what I get out of conversations is from body language. I do really like it here though! The teachers are lovely and I always seem to keep occupied somehow, even if it is just in deep thought ;)

    I'm starting to miss home a bit, mostly because I haven't had an in depth conversation with anyone since the random stranger on the flight to Kathmandu. Otherwise, being here is fantastic. I could see myself living this way to be honest. Maybe some principles will come home with me. I really haven't had any digestive issues or anything since arriving in Sirubari until today, some familiar pain returning. Must be either the alcohol or the meat that I had yesterday! I'm learning towards the meat though... Or the oil that it was cooked in. In any case, it's clear that I've managed to mostly eliminate my triggers and will have to keep it up at home! Randomly, writing about my day and what's going on here with me makes me miss home less. Knowing that there are a few people reading what I'm writing helps keep my sanity and English skills up to date ;)
    Read more