Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Holiday, Sirubari, Lamjung

    January 29, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Today was great.

    It started out in confusion because I had no idea it was a holiday until breakfast time came and went and we hadn't eaten and I was dressed for school and no one else was. Then I learned about the holiday. I was kind of down at first thinking that I could have used these two days off from school to visit Pokhara. But, I'm glad that I was here for this today!!

    Today was a religious celebration, all about worshipping God and also about young boys who have now "come of age". The name of the holiday sounds like "ekka" but of course I can't find the actual spelling online. The boys are around 7 years old and receive a holy string tied around their neck that they will wear as long as it stays on. My teacher friend showed me his from when he was a boy as he was explaining this to me. It also means that the boy is old enough to take on the families responsibilities should something happen to his parents. Seems a but young to me, but it makes sense!

    At first when I arrived I was sitting alone, unsure of what was going on, thinking that if I snuck out no one would even notice. But then I got into it. I started just watching people before things got underway and I was surprised how easy it was for me to pick out the locals from those who had come from the city. There's a different attitude or way about them perhaps. Their mannerisms and way of dressing are slightly different. But in any case, everyone was wearing their best clothing! I felt a bit scrubbish considering all I brought are travel clothes, but I already stand out so eh. The number of people packed into the place was insane. Hardly any personal space, which isn't a thing here anyway. I'm beginning to get used to being crowded, leaned on, used as a handrail, etc.

    As the celebrations started there was a mad rush of people to the "offering" area and I felt crowded out, clearly not entirely sure what was happening. Then an older gentleman, seeing my confusion, gave me a leaf that others were clamouring for, blessed it with a rice water mixture and explained that it means "God Bless You". We held the leaves hands in prayer position for a moment of silence and then the leaves were collected by someone in the crowd. A few people also gave monetary offerings when returning their leaves.

    Next, the two boys who were receiving their holy strings today walked around the crowd accepting offerings of rice and money. They were dressed in formal clothing and had their heads shaved aside from one small area, almost like a tail? During this time I started chatting with someone from Kathmandu, an English teacher who did his Master's in English Literature so we were able to talk easily! In part why the day was so great, it was very nice to have an in depth conversation :) During that time Bobita called me away to eat with her and some friends hidden away from the party. We ate a lentil curry out of banana leaf bowls with naan type bread. And we had some bananas, pears, oranges, and sel roti as well. The fruit is so refreshing, grown without chemicals and tastes nicer than at home. The carrots do too.

    Next, a boy and a girl both dressed traditionally, sat on a bench and folk came up to them, gave them tikka until their entire foreheads were covered, and gave them money as well. Some of the women left with clothing, the tops that the women wear. Not sure exactly how the system works but was interesting to watch.

    At some point, my new friend returned and we began chatting again. He explained the next part of the ceremony to me which began with a woman ringing a bell, everyone sitting and chanting/clapping for a few moments before the Preist began talking. From what my friend explained it sounds like sermon and was about meat and Krishna and a few other things. This friend isn't all that religious apparently so we talked about spiritually, cultural differences, more volunteer opportunities, struggles of the political system here, etc etc. We exchanged emails so that we might stay in touch. He is in need of English speaking teachers at their school if anyone is interested ;) At this point, if I didn't already have plans to move on to Singapore next I probably would have accepted. I really do love it here.

    At some point the "sermon" ended and I was invited to eat. I went up and found two other teachers also eating, including my teacher friend as I've been calling him. In case anyone is wondering, yes I do know their names, but not how to spell them properly. I'll have to find that out before I leave. They took me under their wing from that point on, almost protectively, and helped me get some food, wash the dishes, hands etc. Interesting how the eating system works. While we were eating there was a group of people holding back, seemingly waiting for us to finish before they moved to the eating area. One woman took a photo of me... Random. Someone said to me that I looked very "sweetie" today as well, and I'm still not sure if they meant sweaty or sweet lol. But since I wasn't sweating, I assume that they meant sweet and I take it as a compliment! I was also called a very nice girl and very sporty looking. Must be the lack of stress making me just look happy, no more resting bitch face? Haha <3

    After eating the three of us walked back down to the celebration area and waited for the next event. I felt included at that moment, not the solitary stranger looking in on someone else's event. That feeling of inclusion was furthered when my new Kathmandu friend sought me out again to continue our conversation. He explained the next event to me, the burning of 100,000 holy threads! Apparently a whole group of women helped to make these threads from cotton and it explains what grandma has been making since I've been here but haven't been able to ask. The threads were lit on fire and people clamoured to get a bit of the warmth from the fire, or the warmth of God entering them. Of course the group was packed so tight around that we really couldn't see much, so my local teacher friends snuck me around the back to the other side with less people. Here I was able to get a glimpse of the holy threads through the people dancing and singing around them. I took a short video, but of course my timing was off and I seemed to catch the ends of songs only. I felt comfortable taking the video because my teacher friend encouraged it, no longer the out cast but accepted. The other side of the property I discovered was not hard clay, but Bamboo poles embedded into the clay and covered in straw and mats. I almost fell through once and had to be very careful with my steps. Amazing how strong Bamboo is! Wish we could use more of it at home.

    I was actually sad when it was time to leave.. I suppose I could have stayed, but I think that Beda and Bobita were worried I wouldn't find my way back. And, I'm happy I did go when I did because they needed to get back quickly so I stayed behind with Grandma and we walked slowly back up. She's incredible that she can manage those steps so easily at her age! In general, I'm impressed with the mobility of people here that we just lack at home. Even the man with an amputated leg who uses crutches gets around efficiently and quickly. Mad respect.

    When we were home I started to write this entry and got distracted, feelings of inclusion continuing. Beda and I finished the wine that we started earlier in the week and talked about various things from travel to past volunteers, to family relations, to relationships, future plans, etc. It was quite a nice way to spend the evening. We did also play another card game which I lost, but not horribly at.

    I am definitely loving my time here more than ever now that I've become accustomed to the change in pace, am making friends, and understanding how things work. I honestly am already sad that I'm going to have to leave pretty soon. I could see myself living here I think. But don't worry Mom, I'm still coming home ;) I'll just be back to visit in the future I'm sure! It'll be interesting to see how the next segment of my trip goes, it'll be very fast paced in comparison to this relaxed, stress free life I've been living recently. All part of the journey!
    Read more