Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Worship Day, Sirubari, Lamjung

    February 1, 2017 in Nepal ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    Welp. Let me preface this post by saying that the Nepalese wine is starting to taste like water and I wish I hadn't left my headlamp at the house, walking back in the dark from town is no joke!

    So today was not technically a school day, it was a day of prayer at the school which some teachers showed up to and some didn't. Some students were there and some weren't. Because I'm not of their religion they had me take pictures of those who did show up, a very neat experience! The whole process was called Puja. They set up a poster of one of their Gods, and made offerings of water, flowers, a branch in excrement, fire, etc. Beda led the prayers and the students were all attentive. There was tikka involved as well, and everyone was excited! At one point the flame caught the poster on fire but a quick student put it out. Not before it caught a portion of the hill on fire though... The staff were largely unconcerned, and there was no panic by anyone while the situation was assessed. When it started spreading up towards the playing field a few students broke branches off a bush and wacked the flames out. I was very surprised by the lack of concern, but I guess this is a common thing in the dry season and usually the fires burn themselves out... Very impressed with the lack of panic too! Definitely pays to be calm ;)

    After worship we returned home to eat as we hadn't yet today. Then Beda and I walked into town together. Didn't really know why we were going when we went but it was something to do instead of sitting at home, so I kept him company. He showed me the bus stop where I'll catch the bus to Pokhara next week and explained that it will be very easy for me to find the bus. Apparently because I'm a tourist the drivers will be very vocal about their destination because they think they can over charge me. Which I was expecting, but I now know that the price should be about 250-300 NPR so I won't be scammed ;) We walked around the town for a bit and I saw so many things I want to bring home but don't have the space for :( the woven stools for example that everyone here has and the water "jugs" everyone uses. They just take up so much space but are so practical and useful! Maybe I'll check to see if I can get them at home.. Or just suck it up and pay the shipping fees.

    Anyway, in town we stopped by the English Teacher's home where he lives with his wife and children. I think that he stays in Sirubari during the week though because I see him most mornings coming from the village not from Bhotewodar. From the calendar on his wall it would appear that his children go to an English Boarding school? Anyway, he made us a pancake like pastry and tea before we went out. He and Beda had some business to discuss in town, sounds like they're trying to buy some land and build a house in town instead of living in the village but it's expensive and there are tight regulations about where you can build. While they discussed, I read my book and observed the people. It's definitely beautiful there! I wish that it could be captured on camera properly, the extensive fields, some cultivated some wild and overrun with flowers. A house here and there, cows and goats randomly grazing, the occasional person harvesting vegetables. All with the mountains in the background and the sound of the river overriding the traffic noise. It was very peaceful and serene, definitely not a bad place to spend an hour!

    On our way back to Sirubari we ran into one of Beda's friends from the village, the same one we played cards with the other day, and the three of us had a bite to eat. It was incredibly spicy chicken! Thank goodness I can handle spice because it was hot! Delicious, but hot. I think I surprised the locals there by being able to handle it because they all watched my first bite haha. While we were eating, the girl working there brought glasses of what I thought was water. Thankfully I didn't take a big sip right away like I wanted to! Becuase it was wine. That was a surprise haha. I feel like I'm adapting pretty well to the local culture here, but there is still one thing I struggle with: when chicken is served, it's diced without being deboned first, and you're expected to eat everything aside form the bone, including the cartilage etc. I just can't figure it out, nor want to risk my stomach rebelling. So I leave far more behind on my plate than the others but oh well. Anyway, after finishing our two glasses of wine and our meal we proceeded onwards.

    We ran into another person returning to the village on the way and he joined our crew walking back. We made a pit stop at a house along the way to purchase some more wine. We stayed there and had a glass or two before continuing back home. As a result of our frequent stops we watched the sun go down and then the daylight fade (it stays light for much longer here after the sun goes behind the mountains that it does at home) We ended up making the final walk in the dark! It wasn't so bad by moonlight until we got into the steep steps in the trees where there's hardly any light. Thankfully I had a bit of a charge left of my phone and was able to use my flashlight. Next time I go to town I'm bringing my headlamp!! So one light for 4 people, but I think they're all used to it, just me who's a pansy and worried about breaking an ankle ;)

    When we finally made it home we ate, I did the dishes, and we watched some TV. Sounds like tomorrow Beda is going to a nearby town to pick something up for the school, about an hour from Bhotewodar by bus. I might go with him and see some more of the area! Though honestly that means one less day at the school and that breaks my heart a little bit. There are still things I want to do with the computers before I go!! And friendships to continue building. Definitely wish I could stay longer! It'll be sad when I leave, but maybe I'll come back one day :)
    Read more