Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 8

    March 8 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 1 °C

    The journey out of Tokyo!

    I have to say I was quite happy to leave Tokyo I felt as though it was time to move on to different areas of japan and todays plan was to travel to Yamanashi prefecture to Fujikawaguchiko which is known for its very dramatic mountains and views of Fuji! The morning didn’t start as well as I had hoped as in the final stages of packing I couldn’t find my wallet with my card and a fair bit of cash in. I tore my bag apart and checked all my pockets and still couldn’t find it, I knew I had it when we got back to the hostel the night before so I went to lost and found and it wasn’t there, just as I was about to give up hope Jacob text me saying he found it in my coat pocket- which was the very first place I looked. I did the walk of shame to collect it from my coat pocket and repacked my entire bag. Jacob did very well to not get frustrated with me for waisting 30 minutes looking for something that wasn’t lost and managed to refrain from calling me an idiot which quite frankly I would have deserved! With everything now accounted for we took the metro to Shinjuku and ended up running for the bus terminal as I had delayed us so much we only had a matter of minutes to get the bus. Huffing and puffing we charged up towards the bus station only to see our bus drive off in the opposite direction. Feeling very put out we reached the bus station and went to buy a ticket for the next bus although it was sold out and so was the next one. Feeling extremely guilty and starting to get a little worried about how we would get there I was relieved when I found that the 1pm bus had two seats left at opposite ends of the bus! Securing these tickets we went to get some food to recharge us and improve our moods!

    Boarded the bus which took about 2 hours and dropped us at kawaguchi station we then walked 25 minutes to our hostel. The walk towards the hostel was very exciting with huge mountains everywhere you looked and mt Fuji dead ahead but of course, covered in clouds! Hopefully we will see it in its full glory soon!

    Our hostel is very traditional as well as the general area we are in, we had to take our shoes off at the entrance and were shown to our dorm, which to our surprise is basically double bed bunk beds with a curtain. We thought we had just booked two beds but it is one double bed above someone else’s which is really weird! We dropped all our stuff and went to get some food and the restaurant required us to also remove our shoes and it had a big glass window at the back which would have a beautiful view of Mt Fuji if it wasn’t for the cloud and now snow!!
    A very unexciting day today but looking forward to being somewhere new and exploring tomorrow!
    Read more