Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 70

    Nara #1 🫓🦌

    November 25, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    I hesitated a bit with my decision where to go today and wasted quite some time before noon. But then I decided to visit Nara. Once upon a time (710-784) Nara was the capital of Japan and is still home to impressive shrines and temples. It's also famous for the Nara Park, that is full of Sika Deer. The park is also the location of many of the cultural heritage sites. From Nara Station, I casually strolled through the streets, that were lined with exquisite restaurants and shops, especially quite a few selling items for calligraphy and origami. Once I got closer to the park, the first deer came into sight. I explored the area, visiting Kōfuku-Ji with a beautiful 5-story pagoda. Kasuga-Taisha located deep in the park and Tōdai-Ji, a monumental temple with a gigantic main hall, one of the largest wooden buildings in the world where the largest Buddha statue in Japan is located. I fed many deer with rice crackers that you could buy for around 200yen per package. Always a fun thing to do, even though some were quite nasty and liked to bite you in the ass if you didn't give them a cracker fast enough, some would also follow you to demand more and more, I heard many a tourist scream and run with their remaining crackers. Good times.

    Google Translate:
    Ich zögerte etwas mit meiner Entscheidung, wohin ich heute gehen sollte, und verschwendete vor Mittag ziemlich viel Zeit. Doch dann beschloss ich, Nara zu besuchen. Nara war einst (710-784) die Hauptstadt Japans und beherbergt noch heute beeindruckende Schreine und Tempel. Es ist auch berühmt für den Nara-Park, in dem es viele Sikahirsche gibt. Der Park ist auch Standort vieler Kulturerbestätten. Vom Bahnhof Nara aus schlenderte ich gemütlich durch die Straßen, die von exquisiten Restaurants und Geschäften gesäumt waren, vor allem von einigen, die Artikel für Kalligraphie und Origami verkauften. Als ich mich dem Park näherte, kam das erste Reh in Sicht. Ich erkundete die Gegend und besuchte Kōfuku-Ji mit einer wunderschönen fünfstöckigen Pagode. Kasuga-Taisha, tief im Park gelegen und Tōdai-Ji, einen monumentalen Tempel mit einer riesigen Haupthalle, einem der größten Holzgebäude der Welt, in dem sich die größte Buddha-Statue Japans befindet. Ich habe viele Hirsche mit Reiscrackern gefüttert, die man für etwa 200 Yen pro Packung kaufen konnte. Immer eine lustige Sache, auch wenn einige ziemlich fies waren und einen gerne in den Arsch beißen würden, wenn man ihnen nicht schnell genug einen Cracker gab, andere würden einem auch folgen, um immer mehr zu verlangen, ich hörte so manchen Touristen schreien und weglaufen mit ihren restlichen Crackern. Gute Zeiten.
    Read more