Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Day 30: Dubrovnik, Croatia

    July 20, 2017 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    One month already!

    Today was one of my favourite days. We walked the city walls of Old Dubrovnik, which gave us amazing views and a good workout. We will find out the whole story of Old Dubrovnik tomorrow as we booked a walking tour with kayaking and snorkelling (super excited).

    After the walls, we walked around the Old City for a bit. We got some candy and I got the biggest gummy bear and longest gummy snake ever that ended up lasting me the whole day. We even got to hold some parrots and one of them would have eaten me if he could have. He ate the top part of my hat, tried my ear and then started on my shoulder. He got switched out for his 41 year old sibling who didn't try to eat me, which was nice. They were gorgeous though.

    After our walk around, we took a boat to Lokrum, where they film Game of Thrones. It was one of my favourite places in Europe so far. It reminded me of Cliffs of Moher from Ireland. The water was gorgeous and so clear, I did some cliff jumping and I could see all the fish that were swimming where I was about to jump and that was a good twenty feet up. It was amazing. I don't think I've swam that much in a day since I've been in Europe. There were so many birds and the cutest rabbits. The hiking trails were really nice and slightly challenging. We spent a good seven hours on the island and I wish we spent more.

    When we got back to the Old City of Dubrovnik, we walked what seemed like the 5,000 steps back to our Airbnb (it's actually 491 steps) and then made ourselves some pasta, chicken and zucchini before doing our laundry and taking it easy for the rest of the night. It was a good one month Europeversary.
    Read more