Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Italy, Udine.

    June 28, 2017 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    Today was check out day, and not surprisingly the massive storm that raged all night was still going this morning which made loading the car a bit tricky. Apparently this kind of weather is common in Lake Como at this time of year. This entry (and tomorrow's) are going to be short and boring. We are spending these two days driving to Vienna where we stop for 3 days. On leaving Lake Como we had hoped that once we cleared the mountains that form the "bowl" of the lake that we would be past the worst of the storms. That theory held true for a few hundred K's and I am now sitting in our hotel room in Udine listening to the thunder. It's not cold though. I drove about 440k's today to get here, all of it on autostrada, so not hard driving, just boring. The town of Udine is north of Venice and I wish I could tell you that it is a pretty river town, with lots of trees and gorgeous old buildings. Roger went for a walk through the old part of town and it actually looks quite interesting. We only here for the one night, same type of journey to get to our next stop tomorrow . The hotel we're staying in? Unremarkable, although, I'm always a little suss when I first open the door to the room and I am overpowered by the artificially floral smell of cheap air freshener.Read more