Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Yosemite

    July 16, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    It is 10.40am right now and today we are driving to Yosemite for 4 hours. I had safari oatmeal for breakfast and Conor had cereal. Yesterday, I got a brand new water bottle for the car ride and so we don't waste the PET bottles. Mine is pink with forest animals and it's pretty. Conor's is a blue surfing bottle. We bought it at Raleys.
    When we were going for a toilet break in the shops, me and Conor found a Freal milkshake maker! Me and Conor was staring at it and finally Mammy and Daddy said we could have 1/2 each. I was so happy! I choose Mint Chocolate flavor and Conor chose Chocolate. The way they made it was amazing! It only took 1 minute and you got to choose the thickness. Except when we opened it, we saw that it was unhealthy, so we could only have 1/3 of it. But it was sooooo Delicious!!! The mint was sooooo soothing and and the chocolate tasted like Belgian chocolate! Then, we stopped at Lee Vining to see Mono Lake which is famous for its salt. Around 50 years ago, people decided to change the flow of the streams for drinking water and this damaged the lake environment. We stopped at Mono Lake Visitor Center (MLVC) and I learned that you would float if you swam in Mono Lake because of the salt. We kept on driving to Tioga Pass, it was a very high road, over 3000m, there was SNOW! I tried climbing and Mammy took loads of photos! It was very hard coming down the snow slope, because I was wearing flip-flops. The ice was so cold, my hands hurt!!!!!!! Then, we drove to a meadow where you could see some big rocks and I slipped and fell over! It got scraped and there was a little blood but it didn't hurt. When we reached Yosemite, we got our bags/suitcases and checked in and me, Daddy and Conor swam 40 short laps in the pool. Then we got changed and ate smores!! There were Graham Crackers, marshmallows and Hershey's chocolate. It was my first time making a smore! I accidentally put my marshmallows on the flame 🔥 and it got burnt. But the second time, it was OK ;) I had grilled cheese sandwich, apples and mussels for dinner and it was great. Now we are going to sleep. Goodnight!
    Read more