Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Blister

    May 11, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    ‘Our Way’ became ‘His Way’ today, because of the blister. The last five km yesterday were difficult to say the least - my feet hurt so much, hence the downbeat tone of my last blog. I decided not to walk today. Chris set out at 9am though, headed for Salceda. I hung around in the hotel until about 10am, clearing the room, and drinking tea in the bar. I then went across to the church - it had been half closed yesterday, with only the stamping table accessible. Quite a pleasant place to cry. The weather has been lovely today - warm and sunny, so I didn’t mind waiting at the bus stop, but it soon became clear that one wasn’t about to come any time soon. So, I went to the nearby bar which was festooned with football caps - the walls and ceiling were completely covered. No buses to Salceda from here, so they called me a taxi - I wasn’t offended.

    A half an hour journey and I had arrived at the Albergue Turistico Salceda in a pretty hamlet outside the main village. It has been created from a series of farm buildings and has a fish pond with ornamental fountain, and a plunge style swimming pool (only half filled). Chris was aiming to get here for about 1.30pm. Of course, I was very early, so I chatted on the terrace with an Israeli couple for the next hour or so, until our room was ready. We compared ailments - she had a gippy tummy and had had to halt her journey for a while too. The medico de perigrinos (pilgrims’ doctor) brought her a concoction of rice water, which he ladled into a plastic dish through a seive, straight from the saucepan - it looked like bath water! The medic in question turned out to be the owner, barman, and receptionist too - a very talented man. I decided not to ask him about my foot :/

    I was just giving my passport details when Chris arrived - record time of 3 hours and 26 mins - I hold him up, but it’s very boring without me ;) NB: I should just let you know that Chris believes his speediness was down to the Pilgrims’ Blessing he received in the church at Arzua, where all the walkers were called to the front at the end of the mass and sprinkled with holy water brought by the nun. It’s an alternative theory.

    Chris dumped his backpack and we walked down the lane to the village bar for lunch - I had a very interesting ham and peppers dish - not what I was expecting, but tasty all the same. We have been for another couple of walks down the other 2 lanes that lead from the hotel (in flip flops), because that’s what you do when you’re taking a break from walking.

    What we’ve learnt today:
    Just the one thing - Padel is a game of Mexican origin, very popular in South America and Spain - it’s a cross between squash and real tennis and is coming to the rest of Europe really soon. They don’t do it at Loughborough Uni yet (on good authority)
    Read more