Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Veliko Tarnovo

    May 25, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Things I have previously forgotten to add:
    - Will fell in an ant nest when removing stumps/roots and had bites all over his back
    - Jaxon turned 1 yesterday and got diagnosed with chixkenpox
    - Yesterday I was very tired and after my shower went to the room to get changed - Will called out from the other room " uhm, isn't the blinds open on there?" Yes, yes they were... I flashed the entire street - we are Pretty much on ground level.

    Ok so, I slept In Only until 9:45 because Will called Helen and I needed to say happy birthday to her so I woke up.
    We left the house around 12. We would have left much earlier but it was bucketing down with rain.
    It stopped but naturally started again when we started walking.
    I Iike the always flowing bubblers all of Europe seem to have. I like that the water just stays running and you dont need to press a button - it's beneficial for stray animals and birds too. :)
    After about 1km we took shelter in a cafe and had a drink to wait the storm out a little bit.
    The juice I got was expensive- well not really but we have now accustomed to east European prices and this fresh juice was a whopping $5
    Outrageous lol.
    I was so hungry by now because it was 1pm so I wanted to eat asap so I made us go to the first resturant we are across. It was rubbish lol. Will kept giving me crap because once we left we learnt there was a burger shop next door " you couldn't have walked another 5m could you?"
    Hehe oh well. I just wanted to eat because if you don't know the city you don't know how long you might walk until you find the next place.
    After we just kept walking and came across a fresh produce market. I bought a bunch of cherries for a steal! I got about half a kilo for $2 and they look fresh and delicious!
    We went back to a grocery store we had passed earlier and bought some staples i.e. Milk, bread, cheese, cereal, and sandwich ingredients for us to make lunch with. Loving that we have a fridge to store things! I also bought some tea :)
    Will went and got a burger from the store he saw earlier. We walked back to the apartment, taking gorgeous photos along the way and dropped everything off.
    We went across the road to the 'Tsarevgrad Turnov' multimedia centre.
    Even though I didn't have ID I got a student discount woohoo! So it was 20 Lev all up. 10 for Will, 5 for me and another 5 because I wanted to take pictures. I got a little sticker for my photo to say it was an approved device lol.
    There was a school group in front of us so that was super annoying because we had to lag.
    It basically was a museum with figurines showing how life was like in the fortress during the second Bulgarian rule. It showed insides houses, different trades, the king/queen (Tsar?) on their thrones, weapons, clothing and a battle scene of a crusader being captured.
    We were told that there was videos in English - in my Jess I imagines screen sized projections and not the little laptop we walked past early on - so we missed that aspect but oh well. At one of the scenes I accidentally set the alarm off because I was trying to see the facial expression of one of the figurines and must have stuck my head into the exhibit too far haha oops!
    We finished (it wasn't as long as expected) and then went up a set of stairs to a church we hadn't paid entry for - so just stuck our heads in. It was nothing special but still nice - like all before it. I doubt there will be many "ugly" churches on our travels.
    We've come back home (I enjoyed looking at the street art on the way), eaten some Oreos and will go out for dinner soon. We've decided we will always have dinner out but try and eat the other 2 meals at home or take pre-made sandwiches with us. Will is excited, we bought lutenitza** for his sandwich. It's a tomato, eggplant, capsicum spread. I'm very encouraging as it's the only form of vegetable I can get into him! Haha
    At about 5pm Will says to me "you've had something on your neck all day and it's been annoying me" he removed it and it turns out it was a booger. He had let me walk around all day with a booger on my body. Cheers Willy 😑
    I just hope it was mine not his... don't know how it would have got there hahaha
    We found a place for dinner and it was amazing. The food not so much BUT THERE WAS A CAT SITTING NEXT ME 😻😻😻
    He was so cranky it was amazing. He was sleeping on a chair and people came to sit at the table he wouldn't move so they had to sit around him hahaha.
    There was also a dog inside that came over for pats. We wasn't starving - I gave him a potato and he just looked at it and nuzzled in asking for more pats ❤️beat resturant ever.
    The potato salad was a shocker though. It was cooked potato - no sauce.. not good lol.
    But I don't care, anything animal friendly gets bonus points!
    We are back home now and I've been doing my journal book by sticking in bus tickets.
    Will is now playing nostalgic music and we are going to watch Aladdin shortly :)
    We are going to the fortress tomorrow - hopefully the rain stops but first we have a Skype date with mum and dad :) it's been 2 weeks so I'm keen to talk with them 🙃
    Read more