Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Transit

    May 29, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Will woke up earlier than I did because he had to pack then complained he wanted to pack the toiletries so I had to get up too.
    We found a broom outside/downstairs and cleaned the floor a little bit, emptied the fridge then took 2 big bags of rubbish up the street to the big bins and bought banitzas and multivitamin juice.
    I think I drank the juice to fast because I had a minor tummy ache so I had a quick lie down before our host (Val) cane to get the keys. He arrived while I was pooping so that was awkward.
    We left at 11:30 - HE DROVE US WOOT!
    He asked us if we had visited some village, we said no so he did a little detour past there too which was lovely of him. A small part of me wished me just went straight to the bus station - his B.O was outrageous and he obviously hadn't brushed his teeth in 7 years. I felt sick.
    The main point of his mini tour was to show us a building "for 30 years this was our dictators house, well, one of them" it was so bland looking - amazing views so it's been converted into a hotel.
    Don't know Bulgarian history so not sure which dictator - that is if they have had more than one.
    The village was cute but I think it would have been more appreciated by us if we hadn't come from the Rose fields. It was just very similar.
    He then drove us past the fortress for us to have one last breathtaking glance before we arrived at the bus station.
    Best host ever - he got out before we did, enquirered about buses to Sofia and got us on a bus leaving in 2 minutes. We hurried over, payed the driver 40 Lev directly and hopped on - we are in the car sick seats up front. We said many thanks to Val. We really appreciated his help!!
    The bus was a lot more expensive that previous ones but we are getting what we paid for. It's a 3 hour journey - we have wifi, aircon, a movie is playing up front and the bus is big. (Will still doesn't fit though)
    Thus far I have seen 2 dead hedgehogs. Will is skeptical but I'm pretty confident. If not they were both extremely spikey rocks. I also saw another supposed "badger". I would really like to walk past and have a closer look. This is the 2nd one I've seen in a vehicle. They haven't been black and white which it should be so I'm trying to figure out why is sun-streaked orange and white. Google hadn't helped me. Every thing that it could be doesn't live in Europe. European badgers are black 🤔🤔🤔
    It's a mystery.

    It's kinda fun sitting up front cause you can here all the bugs splattering into the front window. So many juice spots.
    We have both napped. We were going fast on highways but are now stuck behind people on windy mountains.

    I semi retract my previous statement - they might be badgers I re googled and the under bellies are lighter. Still hesitant to lock it in as a badger though.
    We arrived back at Sofia station and I we both needed to wee - I checked and can't believe I didn't document my last adventurer here that came flooding back.
    Last time we were here I went into the wrong toilet and saw a mans Willy -.- I was so embarrassed. He was too I'd imagine.
    I wanted to get a taxi to the hostel which would cost $2 but Will was being a cranky butt so we walked the 3km -.- it was so hot. I don't mind carrying my big bag, it's the little one that drives me bonkers.
    We went and ate at McDonald's because we were starving then walked up the street to our hostel. It's really nice - especially for 10€ each a night.
    It's big, lively and full of people. The carpark at the front had like 10 cats in it - amazingggg 😻😻😻
    We checked in, played a game of pool ( I won cause Will sank the black) we then sat down and just people watched. Lots of Aussies here.
    We went up the street to get Will a beer and me and Ice cream ( that was the compromise if he wanted a beer) then came back to the common rooms.
    Our room is up the street a little bit. It's not bunk beds Yay! It's just 5 beds In this apartment block type thing.
    The security is much better. We have 4 different keys and a swipe card - but only one set which is inconvenient.
    The hostel provides crappy but FREE dinner and a glass of beer. Will drank mine for me but said it was crap - probably the cheapest available.
    We had 3 options for food - spag bowl, lentils and rice or some potato dish. We both went with pasta.
    We then went to the sheesha bar. So bad for us but oars of the culture hahah. I had Turkish tea 🙃
    I'm now back at the hostel. Will is going on a pub crawl - this is when not having a second set of keys is annoying. I can't get into our locker - but luckily i forsaw this issue and got my kindle out :)
    I swear I'm going to kill him if he spends all our money. He wanted a 50€ budget for the night.
    William, you can't have a bitch about me buying a frigging $1 magnet when you go drinking everyday!
    If he spends the 100Lev I'll be so cross.
    We will see. He has been banned from shouting people drinks because he did that in Macedonia and people didn't even drink them 😠 we don't have enough money to be nice!!! Lol
    I have been tip toeing around our room all day because i thought there was a person sleeping. A Brazilian guy has just walked in and lifted the covers and it's a damn bag.
    I even examined the lump. It was totally a person, I swear it snored. I'm honestly blown away by this discovery.
    It's now just me, the Brazilian guy and a S. Korean chick relaxing in our room. I keep having the urge to swallow and sniff when I don't need to. It's sooo quite. Every little booger being sucked back in can be heard 🙄

    Th chick next to me snores so badly I've never heard anything like it. She kept me up until 3 when she rolled over and shut up.
    In other news I finally finished my book - love the series ( black mage series?) and Will for home at 4 with our dorm mate - Jean.
    Read more