Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Adventures in Boca Chica

    September 23, 2022 in Panama ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    I got spend 2 nights at El Ragalo near Boca Chica. This is the place that belongs to Carol and Jenni, who I met while in Casco Viejo. Apparently his uncle bought 1000 acres 30 some years ago and now decided he's done so they're selling lots. The government is in the process of widening the roads and improving access to the area. It's going to make a huge impact on this part of the country.

    While I felt a little landlocked, I made the best of it and Carol was gracious to show me around a bit. They have private beach access about a 30 minute walk away. There were 2 young, like-minded German couples that I got to hang with a bit. Carol took us boogie-boarding. Omg, the water is so warm! Must have been at least 75°.

    We played ping pong my first night and the second night, I taught them how to play Chin Chon. We had fun.

    I hiked to an abandoned lookout. Spectacular views. Even dozed off a bit on a dilapidated bench. So peaceful there. The soft breeze felt amazing.

    In the afternoon, Carol took me to Boca Chica, about 30 minutes away. Little fishing village. Even met the old man, known as "papa," who essentially owns the whole village. He basically hangs it on a hammock watching all the comings and goings. It's hilarious. They have an outdoor basketball-sized court with a roof that would be perfect for pickleball! I could just see myself teaching pickleball to the village kids. That would be a blast!

    There's a mix of small rural establishments and some nice boutique style hotels. We stopped a couple different spots to enjoy a beer and a little food. People literally drink beer here like water!

    It's just fun to see how it's all such a small community and everyone knows each other. Even Carol with his terrible Spanish manages to communicate with and get to know everyone. And everybody knows him! Of course, you can't miss him! Lol So many smiles and salutations! Great times!
    Read more