Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Flight Night Live!

    March 11, 2018 in Hong Kong ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Never my favourite bit. More accurately my second-least-favourite bit, pipped to prominence only by the flight home. Gotta say though, speaking relatively to a prejudicially low base, our journey to Hong Kong was rather luxurious.

    Planeophobia isn't the word and possibly isn't a word at all to describe my attitude to air-travel, but such fears are somewhat soothed when the magnificent flying contraption assigned the task exudes class and quality. From the svelte exterior to the neat contours of the cabin, by way of the massive back-of-the-seat entertainment system with an actual lag-free fully-functioning touch-screen (take note BA) to the personal plug socket and USB port and actual leg-room for actual legs and the multiple fold-out tray-tables to suit a myriad purposes and free peanuts the entire experience looked and felt futuristic. And as we all know, or at least did before Brexit/Trump, the future equals good.

    Only minor foible, they'd run out of my preferred meal option by the time the food-cart reached us, but that's nothing a formal complaint/law-suit can't resolve. Fed and full-up with the aubergine-pasta thing nobody else wanted, we commenced consumption of the on-board entertainment selection.

    The M-Dubyas both watched The Death of Stalin, but having seen it already I took in Alien Covenant. It's about as good as you'd expect an 8th instalment of a franchise to be that isn't produced by Marvel or starring pubescent wizards. Underwhelmed, I decided to stick with the b-movie vibe and watch 'Happy Death Day', which was fairly good mainly because it's a horror rip-off of Groundhog Day. I then decided to watch a bit of Groundhog Day itself, figuring my familiarity with it might help me drift off to sleep, but alas it kept me perky with it's ruddy entertaining perfect script, casting and direction. I considered watching Edge of Tomorrow, but determined such thematic repetition might instil the sensation I was enduring the underlying premise as opposed to simply observing it, so I put on some Family Guy instead. Farts lol.

    Tried to get some shut-eye, but only achieved it in the purely literal sense. Whilst Mark enjoyed Paddington 2 : Paddington Strikes Back Reloaded With A Vengeance, I watched It, by which I don't mean an aforementioned something beimg latterly referenced as it but instead the film entitled It about something called It in lieu of It's actual moniker, it being unclear what It actually Is. It was alright.

    I then tried to watch Kong: Skull Island, but it quickly felt more like Skull Island feat. Kong and I lost interest, so decided to begin chronicling our exciting adventures with a point-by-point re-telling of our flight. Then we had some noodles and I watched some Blackadder and we got breakfast and then I watched Young Sheldon and Woody watched Detectorists and I couldn't see what Mark was watching and I didn't ask.

    We're starting our descent into Hong Kong now so have to put my phone away. Might post this, might not ; will decide later. If I don't, guess nobody will know. Unless I leave this bit in, which would be dumb.
    Read more