Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    End of an Amazing Day

    January 28, 2020 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 55 °F

    Well, I did it, I turned 50, and felt like I did it in style.

    We had our VIP day and honestly, I really didn't know what to expect.

    Before even starting our day, I had given Robbie (our guide) an impossible task. He had mentioned that they could do anything and get anything, so I said that I wanted a can of New Coke for my birthday!

    It took a lot of effort, but Magic Robbie (also known as "cousin Robbie" during the day, came through!!!

    Total shocker when he presented the can, and I knew this was going to be a perfect day!!!

    We got into the park early and got a lot of pictures taken both by Robbie and by some of the Pros in the park.

    Our first ride was the Little Merrmaid Ride, which basically we had to ourselves.

    With Robbie's expert guidance we breezed through the morning knocking out all sort of rides.

    He vast knowledge of the park was awesome as well.

    One of my goals (as stated before the trip) which was told to him was to get the Max score on the Buzz Lightyear ride. I knew all the high point targets, but it's another thing to actually get them.

    We started that ride, and while my gun wasn't always firing, we lined up on the first two high point targets on the ride. Just as we were leaving that first area, the ride stopped for a bit. Brenda had a perfect view of one of the targets and I worked on chasing down the other before switching to the one Brenda was hitting.

    Brenda reached the max before finishing the first room. I still had a ways to go, and was actually concerned that I wasn't going to make it. I was in the 900,000+ range when I thought the ride was over. Turned out there was one more room, and I remembered which target to get. I hit it and boom, BOTH of us were Max Score. The picture part of the ride came as we were congratulating each other and just enjoying the rest of the ride.

    I took my phone out and snapped some pictures of our score to show to the ride operators. They were impressed and Robbie was super impressed.

    He has never had anyone get it on their first try, and certainly hasn't ever had a time when BOTH people in the cart got it.

    We both got Galactic Hero buttons / stickers and because we did it our first go, there was no reason to ride it again :-)

    We also had a victory churro with Chocolate Dipping sauce waiting for us as we exited the ride.

    So much fun!!

    Here's a list of the rides we went on all before 2pm.

    Mermaid
    Main Street Car to the Castle
    Peter Pan
    7 Dwarves Mine Train
    Big Thunder Mountain
    Haunted Mansion x2 (where we learned to ask the cast members what their Bat's names were)
    Pirates
    It's a Small World
    Winne the Pooh
    Monster's Inc. Laugh Floor
    Mickey Mouse Personal Meet and Greet
    Buzz Lightyear
    Dumbo Picture Opt
    Jungle Cruise
    Mickey's Philoharmonic

    And . . . After Lunch

    Space Mountain (Alpha track)
    Mermaid
    Country Bears
    Tiki Birds
    Pirates

    The morning pace was pretty brisk, but we never really had a line. Was fun, and relaxing and everything we could hope for it to be.

    Tomorrow is another day at the Magic Kingdom and we're on our own this time. We just have a few rides to check off our list and we will probably be doing some park hopping to finish off some loose ends.

    Could not have asked for a better 50th Birthday!! So fun and such an amazing experience!

    Will probably go back through and populate some of the ride info, but for now, I'm off to bed!!
    Read more