Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    One day stop in Udupi

    November 28, 2017 in India ⋅ 🌙 27 °C

    Welcome to Udupi. With two hours delay, the train finally arrived to my station. At least I found the couple from Gokarna on the platform so.. let's find cheap accommodation. The advice from locals is go to the bus station, there you can find hotel.
    Udupi is not so famous or big city, there is only small city centre with beautiful temple. But, they have really big bus station. Yes there are bigger ones but this one is separated between local, government, private etc etc buses and between these stations are small streets up and down so for us it was like four bus stands in one city. Nevertheless, let's go and after half an hour we have two rooms! I don't know why but the owner gave us a discount only for two beds room, maybe I had a wrong haircut.
    Dinner time, Diana restaurant and famous Bombay cutlet. So we arrived to the recommended restaurant and there...No one! Nice! Famous. Now I know why, they were closing in 10 minutes. We were there at 9! Super early. But we received our orders and it was really good, totally worth it!
    Next morning is time for a walk. At least owner of the hotel is really good guy and let me store my big backpack in his room! But at first breakfast, besides 6 mini bananas I was in normal small restaurant but..WHAT?... Indian guy had idly and he was eating with fork and spoon! Not with hands. Wow.. never seen that before...
    So, let's check a temple. It's located in small square where in one corner is a temple and other sides are filled with monasteries (8 in total). Beautiful buildings where almost everyone of them is providing accommodation for pilgrims! A lot of locals are already waiting in queue and with sound of live music they are coming inside for Dharsan.
    Otherwise that's all from Udupi, the afternoon I spent in Malpe (different footprint). Nice moment was, when I was walking to the bus station I met some old woman and she has immediately started talking to me. Normal questions but.. farewell with words God bless you from doctor of theology. Quite nice.
    The last thing what really worth it is local Thali. I tried restaurant called Woodenland and for really cheap price I received tomato soup, unlimited thali and ice cream. I had really big problem to roll myself back to the hotel for backpack after that.
    And the last two experiences from Udupi.
    1) When I asked hotel owner if I can use a shower for one more time - sure no problem! Thumbs up!
    2) when I catch the bus to train station I paid with 10Rs bill. The conductor have asked me if I'd have 2 rs change and he gave me back my 10rs bill. When I gave him 2Rs he took it and gave me another 5Rs. So basically I get paid for traveling by bus. Nice
    Read more