Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Varkala

    December 6, 2017 in India ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Don't you think that visiting and chilling on one beach after another could be boring? Me neither. So I took 3 buses from Amritapuri to Varkala and here I am. Again on the beautiful beach with lots of tourists...
    This place was not only about nature beauty but mainly about stories of people. The first one is connected to accommodation. When I was sitting in the third bus I booked a nice (and mainly cheap) accommodation in guest house. It took me while to find it because it's behind buildings hidden from main street.
    Shit. Nobody's home and nobody is answering a phone, nice start. So I entered a property and... The only thing what was there was small board with notes for newcomers. Please take your room, single room numbers... Wow! I love it! So I choose my room, did laundry and meanwhile the owner came. After small conversation I figured out that almost all of money from accommodation are used for food for poor people! Even better feeling from this place! Well the only thing what I didn't need it was huge almost dead cockroach in my bathroom.
    Well some time to relax so I went to the beach and I was just roaming around, snack, juice with sunset on nice promenade. You know, normal afternoon.
    The evening went on in the same mood, I just moved my body to hamak which is placed on the balcony of our staying. So just talking to new guys (France and the UK), playing guitar... also paying was really funny. When manager just asked me how much I'm paying?
    In the morning I went to the beach just observing morning ritual of locals... when I was walking back I met the other guys in the tea shop so it's time for Masala tea. And the stories of the others. For example the guy from England is living on Ibiza, better place I think. And he's just leading yoga retreats and traveling. I like this style!
    Well, that's all from Varkala. I'm glad that I've been there. But now, train and the next stop is... we'll see.
    Read more