Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 1 Irun to San Sabastian 26.4 km

    September 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    So....went to bed so excited for my first day of walking ....and someone started running a chainsaw at 1am - 5 am!!!!
    And there was a forklift beeping.
    Not a great sleep.

    On the road by 630 am
    Following a new GPS as my other app doesn't have one yet.
    Needless to say, very little signage and I had to ask 3 different Spanish men where the trail was.!!!

    I finally found it and saw a few pilgrims so was very relieved.

    Very challenging
    Absolutely gorgeous scenery.
    Walking with a guy from Leeds Gavin) and a young Dr. from
    Germany (Polo). She is studying 6 years to be a visceral surgeon.

    My pics will show the terrain. You can see how the weather changes.

    Delighted to walk through a herd of pregnant Mares and foals just grazing. Saw a few frail runners ( not Camino people)

    I will include my Garmin stats to show elevation as well.

    I lost my headlamp.

    Great but exhausting day🤗
    Oh and Rianne is a stage ahead of me. Very slim chance I will see her again but we're texting.
    Read more