Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 5 Markina Xeman to Gernika 126.2 km

    September 27, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Wonderful sleep even though the woman beside me snored like a .....Had breakfast and merrily set out.

    Glorious sunrise. Beautiful countryside and forest hiking..
    I was super delighted to catch up with Tricia and Kira. They are a Mom and daughter pair from Gallway Ireland. Kira wanted to go by herself and her mom said "Can I come?" Tricia was such a trooper!! I told her how awesome she was doing. Not easy at all for her. They fly home Saturday.

    Rianne sent me a funny voice message....she said "I want to be kind to my body ( she had a previous Achilles SX,) so I will only do 22 km today not the ,30 I had planned! " I never did meet up with her I think I passed her somehow. 😢

    Then came the Burros. I was in heaven. I petted the little guy for a long time. I loved his bangs!!!

    I went off track again. There were even arrows pointing that way....very confusing for people.

    I am slowly getting the hang of GPS trail walking.....Very sketchy signage in a lot of places.
    Read more