Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    A beautiful morning in a "caldera"

    August 6, 2017 in Tanzania ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    Caldera was not a word I have used before now. I was reliably informed the Ngorongoro crater was not a crater but a caldera. So having looked that up it is like a sinkhole formed when a volcano collapses. The wildlife inside is isolated from the rest of the world and i can say this one was breathtaking. If I was ever picturing the garden of Eden this would be close. A salt lake with flamingos on it, wildebeest, hippos lounging in beautiful rivers, elephants, zebra, lions of course. Even saw ostriches mating and a very unusual cat called a serval - very much like the cats you see in Egyptian paintings with the big pointy ears.
    Unfortunately Emily couldn't do her trick with the binoculars as I left mine at the breakfast table at the last resort (duh) and Oliver left his in his room this morning. So I did my best with photos and videos although I don't think they capture the expanse of the caldera and the beauty in there.
    Read more