Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 95

    Korogwe

    March 21, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I want to move north along the coast to Tanga today but the coastal road is - again again again - not drivable as it is partially destroyed by flooded rivers. After reading how big this city is I loose interest and anyway, while processing north the Usambara mountains enrol in front of me and I feel a strong gravitational field deflecting my path strongly to the west away from Tanga.

    Today I travel in company of my personal Maasai warrior Alamayani. He works at the lodge/camp where I stayed the last days and wants to visit his family south of Arusha. He carries three major items: A wooden stick, a traditional sword (ol alem) with which he once cut a lion's neck and a smartphone which shows better battery runtime than mine. We have a slight communication problem though because my Kiswahili is nearly as good as his English ;-)
    Read more