Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Azofra to Santo Domingo de la Calzada

    May 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    What a day! I left Azofra around 6.45 am before breakfast in anticipation of the treat I had at the end of the walk. The first nine kilometres were through some beautiful countryside, back to the yellow flowering fields. There was quite a climb to Ciruena where we discovered that there weren’t any cafes! So there was nothing to do but to continue straight onto Santo Domingo de la Calzada.

    I arrived there around eleven and went to check into my hotel - Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda. I had discovered that if you join Parador Amigos that you could get a special spring rate of 65 euros and they also gave you a free breakfast voucher. A very kind person at the front desk let me check in early and gave me a double room which was the only one available at the time. It was bliss to have a hot shower and have some conditioner to put in my hair. It also has a bathtub which I used later.

    I had a relaxing ‘menu of the day’ in the square watching all the families out for Sunday lunch. I then went to the sister Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada to use the free drinks’ voucher they gave me. It will be a shock going back on the road tomorrow and back to an albergue tomorrow night. But what an experience!

    Parador Santo Domingo Bernardo de la Fresneda
    18kms
    Read more