Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Villar de Mazarife- Santibáñez

    May 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    It was a bit of a noisy night as the heavy wooden bunks were loud whenever anyone rolled over in bed. But I was still up early and on the road by 6.30am. My foot takes a while to stop hurting when I begin but once I get moving it’s pretty good.

    It was 10kms to the first town and as it is Sunday I wasn’t expecting anything to be open. The first thing I saw was a water fountain and I was very happy with that. Then as I rounded the corner there was a cafe open. And then as I got closer there was Lesley talking to the couple who helped me up when I sprained my ankle! So it was great to catch up with them all. Onwards through Hospital de Orbigo which would have been a good place to stay - lots of open bars and cafes and that great bridge as you enter.

    But I kept on to my albergue in Santibanez de Valdeiglesias. I am in a room with three single beds with sheets and blankets already made up and a real towel and toiletries. When the owner saw my sore foot she gave me a bed that had an electric device that raised the foot and to keep my leg elevated. And made me some lunch because everything in town is closed. There is another Australian staying here, Nicole from Brisbane. And she’s a physio! So a great day!

    L'Abilleiru Albergue Rural
    18kms
    Read more