Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Santa Catalina de Somoza to Foncebadon

    May 24, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 7 °C

    I left early this morning after a sleepless night (not sure is it was the spicy meal or the cask wine or the sheetless and lumpy beds without pillows). And it was freezing! I had shorts on and my long pants were in my bag that was being sent on. I was lucky I had my fleece and rain jacket with me as I needed both, and my buff, as we climbed up the hill.

    I managed the first half well as it was nice and flat but once we got to the very rocky path it was so difficult to watch each step so I didn’t twist my foot.

    It was a relief to finally arrive at my albergue. It is nice and warm in here and after icing my foot and showering I had lunch in the local pizzeria.

    I have decided not to walk tomorrow as the entire way will be steep and rocky and with sheets of shale. I don’t want to risk any injury when I am so close to the end (well about 250kms). So I will get a taxi to Ponferrada and have a rest day.

    El Convento de Foncebadon
    18kms
    Read more