Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Santiago de Compostela

    June 11, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    We set off for a walk to the El Cortes Ingles which is a rare shopping centre/department store in Spain. We stopped for coffee on the way and saw Leigh Brennan walking her dog Cooper. Leigh is the host of the Camino Café podcast and I met her while staying at Casa Susi.

    On the way back from the shopping centre I saw Justin Skeesuck from I’ll Push You. He had just arrived in Santiago. We went over and introduced ourselves and chatted for a bit as you do with people from the Camino.

    After a delicious Italian meal we went to the Cathedral for our roof tour. Unfortunately it was in Spanish so we missed the history of the building but the views from the very, very sloped roof and tower were amazing.

    One of the great coincidences of the Camino was Sandra and I beginning on the same day in St Jean and both staying in Beilari. And both having the exact same backpack. As we were talked over the weeks we discovered an even greater connection. My dad came to Australia from Italy in 1951 and met Johnny Berton soon after. They remained close friends all their lives, dad was his best man and mum was Jessie’s matron of honour. We spent a lot of time with Johnny and Jessie and their four children when we were growing up. Carla is one of those children and is also one of Sandra’s closest friends. I will catch up with Sandra and Carla and hopefully Gina when we get home.

    My Camino really ends today as I leave for Madrid in the morning. What an adventure. I’ve loved all of it, even the bits that were very challenging at the time. Will I do it again? I will have to wait and see!

    Libredon Rooms
    12 kms
    Read more