Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Madrid

    June 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 39 °C

    Another very hot 40 degree day to be walking around!

    I bought a ticket for the hop on hop off bus so that I could see a bit more on my last day. While waiting for the bus near a fancy hotel there was a huge police and security presence. And out came King Felipe VI! He stood next to his car quite close to where I was waiting. But not as close to me as the guard with the machine gun.

    My first stop on the bus was the Museo Sorolla as suggested by Narelle. It was formerly the home of the artist Joaquín Sorolla y Bastida and was full of ceramics, furniture and his beautiful paintings. It was not crowded and there was a lot of information in English which explained his art and his family life.

    I hopped back on the bus and tried both the historic and modern Madrid routes until it became too hot to enjoy anything.

    I caught the metro to my airport hotel as my flight is early in the morning. I wandered around in the heat trying to find a restaurant with a kitchen that was opening before 8pm - not an easy thing! But lucked upon a Japanese one that was slightly air conditioned and so my time here fittingly ended with a meal and a glass of vino tinto.

    I have loved every minute of Spain but am very excited to get home to my family and friends, some different clothes and my own bed. And a trip to the hairdresser!

    Hotel Villa de Barajas
    11 kms
    Read more