Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Thurs- Fri. Baiona-Vigo-Redondela

    October 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    I didn’t journal yesterday cuz I was tired and crabby. It wasn’t my favorite day. A lot of walking close to busy roads and traffic, through sand, and just town after town. It created a lot of noise in my head. So today I walked without any ear buds in. It was wonderful!
    And today was WAY better. Literally climbed out of the city of Vigo and took the high road over to Redondela. I have been taking pictures like crazy, where I don’t usually take any pictures. I think it’s cuz when I walk alone I just notice so much more. It’s been a great experience from that perspective.
    Met another Martin- this one from Germany- I shared one of my apples with him. Sat at lunch with the Scottish ladies who whole heartedly agreed with me about yesterday’s walk. They ended up getting lost in the city. We all agreed that Vigo seems to be a very nice city, but once you’ve seen one city you’ve seen them all. And we all agreed that it is much more interesting to walk the little country roads.
    My total mileage to this point is just shy of 140 and I have 5 more walking days to get to Santiago. The weather until now has been perfect, but the forecast is for rain for the rest of my time here. Let’s hope the forecast is just as accurate as it is in the US 😬😬😬. Got some big climbing days for the next 2 stages.
    I’m staying in another “charm hotel-(according to Portugal Green Walks). It’s this old castle- very dark inside- and I’m sure it’s haunted. You can just tell these things. PLUS it’s at least a mile and a half from town, they only serve breakfast, and I am jonesin’ for a Coke Zero!
    But I am tough! I am a warrior! And I will survive!
    Read more