Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Paraty

    November 29, 2022 in Brazil ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    Trip to Paraty, stop number 3.
    Paraty is a stunning town that was mostly developed in the 1800's by the Portuguese. The town is designed in such a way that it floods for a "self clean" during high tides but the houses are set higher so are always protected. Pinapples are also displayed outside houses as a sign of welcoming.

    Accommodation: Hostel Casa Viva. Very friendly staff and do a great breakfast. My favourite hostel of the trip so far. It has a great pool but I was too afraid to go in it as it turned someone's hair green.
    Day one was exploring the old town and watching England Vs Wales in the World Cup. The rain came heavy in the evening and had sushi for dinner. The official last supper with my travel buddy Kevin.
    Day two I went on a boat trip with Will from my hostel. Swam and went on paddle boards. That evening I went out for dinner with more new found friends, Vicky and Edwin. We then had a drink with the nicest Dutch couple I've ever met who gave me so much info for the road ahead. I also met Max, who no doubt I'll see again along my route.
    Day three, I took a day trip to Trindade beach. It was beautiful and the sun was finally shining.
    Day four. I was loving Paraty so much I extended for one more day. I started the day with a work out with Vicky and Edwin at the outdoor gym. I learned more about the town doing a walking tour and watched the Brazilian match in the afternoon at a local bar with everyone from the hostel. Lots of drinks and great fun was had to round off my stay.

    Recommendations:
    Boat trip.
    4x4 trip. Didn't do it but it's supposed to be great.
    Walking tour.
    Day trip to Trindade. You can get a local bus from Paraty bus station.
    Go cachaça tasting and drink a Jorge Amado.
    Dinner at Quintal Verde and Margarida Cafe. They do great fish.
    Cocktails at Apothekario. Not a backpackers budget but it's a nice treat.
    Read more