Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    El Calafate

    December 24, 2022 in Argentina ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    I designated El Calafate four nights. In hindsight this may be a little too long. The main thing to do here is to travel to see Perito Moreno Glacier. The down side of being here during high season is that I had to pre-book accommodation, leaving no room to alter my plans.
    Accommodation: America del Sur. It's a really nice hostel with an incredible view of the lake and mountains.
    I arrived on Christmas Eve. This is actually when Christmas is celebrated in Argentina. The hostel put on a huge dinner and I don't think I've ever been so full from red wine and steak.
    Christmas day was very different to what I'm used to. It wasn't really anything special and was treated like a normal day of the year.
    I ended up meeting a friend from my previous hostel in El Chalten and we organised to go to the Glacier together. My St Stephen's day outing. It was very impressive to see and as expected, quite on the chilly side. It's one of the only glaciers in the world that is still growing in size.
    Read more