Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Santiago

    January 8, 2023 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Look at all these people I know! I arrived in Santiago only to be collected from the airport by Joseph and Sarah in their new wheels. After nearly 7 weeks away it was very lovely to see their familiar faces.
    Hostel: Ventura Sur Hostel. 10/10 hostel. I had been recommended it while I was in Brazil. The owner Ivan is a really cool guy and couldn't have made me feel more welcome. He does avocado and eggs for breakfast and did a huge BBQ for everyone.
    Day one in Santiago had me straight back in the shops to replace the puffa jacket I had lost. Bagged myself a bargain in the Patagonia outlet. The area of my hostel was very nice and we found a nice Italian vibey bar to have food for our first South American family dinner.
    Day two, I had Megan's arrival. I'm now not so solo on my solo travels. For the rest of our stay in Santiago we enjoyed getting to know everyone in the hostel, had a big hostel dinner, drank plenty of Pisco sours and tried to do a few touristy things. Santiago as a city didn't exactly have my heart. It was okay but I didn't feel very safe. Megan had her necklace stolen from her neck while on the walking tour and two people in the hostel had their phones stolen.
    I'll be coming in and out of Santiago a few times in the next couple of weeks so I'll have more opportunities to try to tick off more sights and attractions.

    Things I did:
    Explore the area of Barrio Italia
    Free walking tour
    Cable cars to see the view

    Recommendations:
    Be very very wary of theft
    Read more