Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 81

    La Paz, take two

    February 10, 2023 in Bolivia ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    I've come back to La Paz for one last stint.
    Accommodation: Skyline hotel. It was my first time on the trip having a private room to myself. It was pretty loud though and very cold at night.

    Getting back from Isla del Sol, I said my sad goodbyes to Megan. It was so lovely to have her with me for so long.
    On Saturday I did the much anticipated Death Road. I booked this through Altitude tours. I went for the cheapest package which cost 350 Bolivianos. It included breakfast (coffee and a breakroll), some snacks and lunch (rice and chicken). The cycle itself was really good. It's true that it is scary but not as bad as it's hyped up to be. The scenery is great and the cliff drops at the side of the road are scarily steep. We weren't able to completely finish the death road as a land slide a few weeks earlier has blocked the road. This meant we had to drive the whole way back up which was even scarier than being on a bike. I would have preferred if the tour didn't include lunch as it meant we spent hours driving to the "hotel" where it was located. We finished cycling at 11:30 and didn't arrive back to La Paz until 18:00.
    Read more