Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 128

    Lima

    March 29, 2023 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    No one should look to me for a logical travel route. Literally no one! But the nice thing about being solo is that I can do what I want. I've made the last minute decision to come back to my original travel route so that I can meet my friend Tara. I'm definitely feeling like I need to hop on a holiday buzz and see a familiar face.

    The journey to get here has to have been my longest yet. I left San Pedro at 4am on the 27th. My flight wasn't until 6pm and I arrived at Guatemala City airport shortly after 10am. This was due to political protests happening in the city that day and I was advised to avoid traffic. I did see Mel Gibson in the airport though which was exciting. I had two connecting flights to get to Lima. It was all going fine until I had a 5 hour layover in Bogota. Being as tired as I was, they displayed the flight number next to the gate number, leading me to get confused between the numbers 49 and 47. Unfortunately I missed my flight as I realised a minute too late. To cushion the blow, three other English girls also made the same mistake. Thankfully we didn't have to pay for a new flight, we were put on one 12 hours later. We spent the day in the airport lounge eating and drinking wine. It was the best £22 I've ever spent! I eventually got to my hostel in Lima at 2am on the 29th!

    Accommodation: Kokopelli. It's under the Viajero group and it's pretty nice. It's in an old fancy building and does a great free breakfast.

    -Day one: Tired and laying low. I slept in and missed breakfast. I went to a lovely cafe down the road and got a great coffee and a bowl of overnight oats. Being travelling now for so long it's really nice to get some basic, slightly healthy food. I went to the beach for the afternoon. It was full of seaweed and people trying to sell me stuff. In the evening I got sushi for dinner.
    -Day two. I did the free historical walking tour. The heat was unbearable. It was cloudy and unbelievably humid which made me feel extremely tired and not very well. I got back to the hostel and went for ceviche for a late lunch/early dinner.

    Recommendations:
    Barranco is a lovely area to stay. It's quite artsy and has good food options.
    Pan Sal Aire - great cafe
    Free historical walking tour

    *Use BCP ATM - no fees*
    Read more