Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 159

    Tayrona National Park

    April 29, 2023 in Colombia

    I spent three days in this area to see the Park and also to check out a very popular hostel

    Accommodation: The Journey Hostel. It's in an unbelievable location but didn't quite live up to all the hype on the fun front.

    I went to Tayrona with Ben, Evie and Amy and also with two Irish girls, Sinead and Yvonne. It was a two hour walk into the park and along the beaches to reach the most popular spot, San Juan. It was incredibly hot and we were drenched in sweat. I chose to spend the night in the park and sleep in a hammock at San Juan beach. I wouldn't say this was essential. I think overall I would have preferred to have walked back out and gone back to the hostel. None the less, it was a cool experience and it was nice to have a swim in the morning before hiking back out. I saw some creepy crawlies on the way out and some howler monkeys.
    I spent one more night back at the Journey before making my exit to head to Palomino.

    Entry to the park was around £12. You do need to bring a little cash with you to pay for a bus to take you a little further in and also to pay for a tax at the gate. Have a picture of your passport handy as they want it for entry.
    Read more