Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Sunday Lah

    September 10, 2023 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Tried to sleep in but I am incapable- up at 6 and went for a longer run down along the Rochor Canal a bit. Back for a Kaya brekkie with my pals and, as it was a beautiful morning I took a wander through some of the surrounding streets to Jalan Besar - real old school Singapore. Then it was off to Newton Food Centre. On my visits here I always try to get some new food centres under my belt. Kerry and I came here on a very early visit and it was as underwhelming then as it is now - it was only just opening up which didn’t help. I did notice the beer was more expensive (proximity to Orchard St I guess). However the oyster omelette was superb- very authentic as was the grumpy bloke who cooked it! Back to the hotel with plans to pool, pool and more pool. However the drizzle set in. I had noticed a very authentic looking Bahn Mi station on the next corner and I was going to have that at poolside for lunch. However, the drizzle was a little persistent and I wasn’t going to have it the room so I took the paper down and had a relaxed lunch at the food centre. It was excellent and a perfect size - in fact really really good. I spotted a chicken rice stand there which may do for dinner (or a decent looking Char Kway Teow). Back to the room - the drizzle was hardly a thing so up to the pool where it tried to keep away- I find in the pool you are wet anyway. I am enjoying this hotel and the area is super so it will become the new HQ for future visits (May 24).Read more