Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 5

    Catch up - travellers both

    11 settembre 2023, Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    Sandy was keen to meet up (Theo in conference for next few days) and my suggestion was Tiong Bahru - wonderful food centre and one she thought she hadn’t been to. A very unique market/food centre in an Art Deco paradise. I played tour guide and we wandered through the village streets- marvelling at the architecture and the serenity. I was successful in finding the little hidden ‘circus’ and we discovered some WW2 air raid shelters and learned the history. Back to the market for a feed. Not negotiable was the local icon snack Kueh to share. Sandy recognised the food and the stall and realised had been there before but had been oblivious to the surroundings #lookup. The kueh were delicious but we left room for another dish. We did a tour but our first choices all had massive lines. One of those Sandy decided on - a Michelin starred Lor Mee stand so off she went to do time in the line. I wanted Ayam Chicken but the line was even longer so I succumbed to fried carrot cake (black not white) - it was wonderful but I really should steer away from these oyster omelette/carrot cake stalls for every meal! Mine was served super quick and I had finished mine and a beer by the time Sandy reached the front of her line. I was glad I hadn’t had large sizes as I had plans for a second lunch at the pool! #greedy. Sandy arrived with her lor mee and it looked amazing. Smelled great and the taste was exquisite. Looked a reasonable size so Sandy was walking home to work it off. A good catch up in a world hub. I wandered back to the MRT and straight to Lavender (Happee Happee as the train announcer says!). Up to the pool to refresh and read some news. Then a quick dash downstairs for a Bahn Mi then back to the pool - it was still piping hot when I tucked in (just like that time in Saigon Kerry- the Bahn Mi Lady outside that grand hotel). Yummo ! The sky was blue and the sun warm - this is holiday heaven!Leggi altro