Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    One day in a week long celebration

    May 7 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    Into the Club for breakfast after a nice run around the Marina. Window seat overlooked Singapore River and the Bay. The congee was excellent (no bread!) then a perfectly cooked omelette from the station. I held back on brekkie as I didn't want to be full - so enjoyed the room and the view. Booked tix on line for a Singaporean art exhibition at the National Gallery close by. The Gallery comprises the magnificently renovated City Hall and the Judicial Building. The exhibition was great and was a great showcase of the development of modern Singapore. Checked out of the Stamford and headed for Raffles. Good job it is next door as the heavens opened at that moment. Borrowed an umbrella and forded the road safely. Greeted into the splendid Tiffin Room - colonial style! Last time Kerry and I were here it was a full on Indian buffet. Since the 'issues' and new owners it is now a la carte. I ordered the Tiffin selection and a bottle of Pol Roger. The somm tells me the Pol Chef de Cave is holding a master class in house in July (wonder I am doing in July? 🤔). Appetisers were fish and paneer (remember the fish K?) the main was lamb cubes, dahl and the featheriest long grain rice. The lamb fell apart and the taste..... My phone decided to have a little rest so I couldn't take any pics of the Tiffin bowls in their carry stack, the dessert of gulab jumon and a salty sweet curd thing. The Pol was a perfect match being a fuller and fruit rich style. I had spotted a Chateau Palmer by the glass on the list. It was their Alter Ego (second Wine) and was interested! (I had both Pol and Ch Palmer for my 21st with mum and dad.) The somm told me it was an excellent example of the house and the excellent vintage (2017) and he wasn't wrong. A superb example of a Margaux at its best. Finished up, had wander around the grounds and (of course) into the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling. Caught a Grab home and settled in for a quiet afternoon at the pool. The rain had stopped and it was overcast and pleasantly humid. My overnight stay and birthday went brilliantly and exactly went to plan. Thank you all for your best wishes!Read more