Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Still a day left for me!

    May 8 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Woke up to a wet track this morning - running gear and shoes not too wet and have a bit of time to try them out for packing. Had Singapore Breakfast at my original place. Absolute old school and I have been coming here for years - the owners are heritage value! Not the best in the Berseh Centre but comfort food writ large! I have been given late late check-out so have time to enjoy another day! Walked to Little India and it was interesting seeing the changing environment from old Singapore to Little India. This is a much more pleasant place to visit earlier in the day before the manic crowds. I was able to enjoy the architecture and the developing vibe before it was swamped - like Santorini before the cruise ships arrive! A comprehensive stroll then back home taking a few different streets. Kerry will remember the Perak Hotel - one of our more interesting stays!! Back to the pool and a bahn mi lunch poolside with some of my leftover beers - nice! Packed and then a short stroll to Bendemeer MRT and onto Changi - so easy! Almost as easy as security and immigration - hardly noticed their presence. Unloaded my remaining SGD at a duty free - I now have a 2015 Moet to have with my Sunday breakfast - a fitting Grand Finale to an amazing week and some. Into the Qantas First Lounge and a welcoming glass of Taittinger Prestige Brut. Pacing my self while still enjoying. Had dinner an hour or so in - chose wontons in black vinegar and chilli then Chef Linda's stir fried beef. The wontons are my non negotiables and sensational as ever - the beef, while nice, I doubt would draw a queue at Maxwell or even Berseh!! The Maitre D was pleased with my choice of Leo Buring Riesling and said he had a special 'off the menu' Pewsey Vale if I would like **yes please**. This is an everyday wine we never drink but is OUTstanding! Drink now or in 15 years. #specialtreat. I love Singapore First and it is a wonderful finale to a great city. A long haul in economy (didn't win the upgrade) coming so will sign out on Singapore now & a quick wrap tomorrow. Boarded and a bonus - a seat on my own (aisle with window clear). This is good oh!!Read more