Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Stage 29: Chavanges to Brienne-le-Châtea

    May 18, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 41 °F

    Stage 29: Chavanges to Brienne-le-Château

    My last VF stage for 2023!!!! Next year I’ll need to walk the three days I missed because of my knee, and then jump ahead to Brienne-le-Château to start my VF 2024.

    Today was a long day because the first hour was spent just getting from Chavanges to the VF.

    This part of France in the Spring is lovely. So much green! I walked through fields again, as I have for the past week or so. Some small woods, too. Of course. Lately it has been fields and small woods with a few tiny villages and some churches thrown in for variety. 🙂🙂🙂

    In Brienne-le-Château I am staying at the pilgrim house. Very comfortable, and very near my bus stop for tomorrow morning.

    The town is known for a an impressive 18th century castle, now a psychiatric hospital, and the military school where Napoleon lived and studied for five years in his youth.

    The church is nice enough, with fun art projects done by children.

    It’s hard to believe this is it for 2023. It was 29 days, about 400 miles, but looking back it seems like 5-6 days. ♥️
    Read more