Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Cinque Fotografies-Barcelona Day 6

    April 24, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    We ventured about an hour out of the city to visit the Monistrol de Montserrat. We departed by train from the Plaza Espanya which is adjacent to the Barcelona FC Stadium.

    It was nice to see a different area of Spain, and we were thinking that it resembles parts of the Western U.S. We were joined by a new acquaintance from Texas who we met at Park Güell a few days earlier. In another small-world phenomenon we know people in common in Portland.

    Those who know me are aware that I'm very afraid of heights. There are two ways to the Monastery: aerial tram or cog railroad. At my urging we opted for the lesser of two terrors and we took the train. The views were quite spectacular, and I was only troubled by some sheer drops a few times.

    When we arrived at the Monastery, we wandered up the pathway to the Basilica. I purchased a candle and lit it in memory of my father, aunt and both grandmothers. This brought back many memories of my youth where either my mother or grandmother would take me to light votive candles to remember departed loved ones.

    When we arrived at the plaza outside the Basilica, Sunday Mass was taking place. We had wanted to enter the Basilica to hear the Boys' Choir, but no new visitors were allowed in until after the service and the performance of a few songs by the choir. Luckily, the service was broadcast and the sound was quite lovely.

    I was moved by the church bells. They were jubilant and beautiful. We were able to then enter the Basilica to see the magnificent church and several side chapels. One highlight was the display of the Black Madonna. It was beautiful and moving and she gazes out through a window to the church.

    Jim and I decided to take the heights challenge to an additional level by purchasing a ride up the funicular to the top of the mountain. I prayed to Our Lady of Acrophobia, and I managed to make it to the top unscathed despite an elevated heart rate. The view really was worth the extra elevation.

    After our return, we were welcomed by a couple from Barcelona who we met on a Facebook group page. They were lovely and hospitable, and we met for a drink at a bar across from the hotel It was fun practicing Spanish while they practiced English.

    We concluded the night with our new friend from Texas and we enjoyed a late-night Chinese meal. We really had a wonderful day. Barcelona is the best!
    Read more