Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Sleeping With My Eyes Wide Open

    July 28, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Well it’s here. The day of our flight to the UK. We are packed, double checked everything and on our way. We are forty minutes into our flight and chilling. The day began with breakfast in Riverton with the kids and a visit to mums nursing home. I had to bribe the kids with a donut each to sugar their visit to super nana. Nursing homes are not the best places for children. We had a lovely visit with mum accompanied by a chorus of you are my sunshine and an Austrian poem in German,before saying our goodbyes and heading home. I dropped the kids back in Riverton as Tabby was home from her night with her new squeeze,then it was off for a quick coffee and cake before my indulgent nail session. The nail salon in Helena Valley has ( been open for two years yet I only discovered it this week. Luckily they had an appointment today so I was in. The girls that do the nails are Asian but they all have lovely smiles and are very polite and friendly. For seventy five dollars I had a manicure and pedicure and a brilliant hand,arm and leg massage. My nails are now a brilliant orange.

    Arriving home I was greeted by Tabby,her dad,the kids and a barrage of suitcases. They had expected me home sooner,so the small troupe was camped on my doorstep. The day was still young so off we went to see Tabby’s new home and to have a drink with the bad mums who were coming to christen the house with a champagne or two. We had a great two hours laughing,eating and drinking but as we still had things to do at home,we packed up hugged everyone and headed back to my place. The kids showered and dressed for the plane,ate their usual nuggets and chips and by the time I was ready it was time to call a cab. The cases were dispatched boarding passes printed and we were off to security and passport control. Going through passport control the passport officer asked who was Carole Rogers, when I volunteered it was me,she informed me my re entry visa had expired. Not news I wanted to be hearing as I now have to apply for re re entry visa as soon as I arrive in the UK or I will be stranded in the UK I definitely... hopefully I can go to Liverpool and be issued with a new one,or it will be fast tracked online. Whoops didn’t see that one coming. I am now an illegal immigrant. It never occurred to me that my re entry visa had expired. I received no prior notice on booking air tickets....so the onus is squarely on my shoulders.

    So back to the present we are now one hour twenty into our flight. The meals have been served I’m drinking a white wine and getting ready to settle in for the night,except there is a baby screaming one row back. I attract babies,especially crying ones. But hey this is life in economy..... the ear phones will be going on soon. Goodnight diary until Dubai........
    Read more