Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 354

    Hobart, the pickled frog🐸

    February 9, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    We were in the bus one day and Sarah and Jesse said to me, do we get a private room with three beds on the ferry? And I looked at them awkwardly and excited at the same time and said, guys, I think I am not leaving just yet. After that moment I was dropped in the pickled frog. First night felt lonely and said, putting it into context, this last exciting year full of adventures was pretty lonely most of the times, and Sydney was the cherry on top of the cake. And then Jesse and Sarah were just a bit of an actual family and comfort for the first time since longlong, I felt so part of the place and loved so quickly.
    So first night met some people, felt bored and out of place, but did an effort to see were it was going. Next morning I woke up and a girl that was sitting at the other end of the big table was having breakfast, and we had exchanged a few words before, so just decided to sit next, still with a grumpy face and not much interest. They were speaking in french, she quickly switched to english and kept on going so I could be part of it. Then she started explaining she had just done her first yoga class recently, showed and explained some postures to the friend, and inside I was finding the situation so comedic. And at some points, she faces at me and says, have you ever done yoga before? And I awkwardly laughed and said, "yeah, I'm actually a yoga teacher. Are you gonna go to a class today? Because I kinda really need some tbh". And that broke the ice and made my arrival to hobart a completely different experience. That was Romina, who became my new family and best friend, we did everything together, from cooking, going daily to yoga or just sit in a caffe in silence. She was so bright and social, she had this beautiful energy that everyone loved, so being with her started reopening my social energy and we started meeting all this people and started making this new group of friends.
    There was Armand, a sweet guy from France that always had red wine for dinner; Sara a finish girl who was absolutely in love with Australia; the sweet Katelyn from Scotland; Ben who was the absolute organizer of activities in the group; Ana the most unique german, in love with glowing things and pavlovas or anything with sugar; Tati a lovely girl from argentina; Isaac, my absolute favorite human in this place, just bright curious innocent and ready to eat the whole world (he used to be offended because I called him a puppy); the quiet, smart and kind Simon; Aaaaaa Kylian always so funny, unexpected and himself; loud and crazy Valentine; Daria as something else; Max, my first friend in Tasmania; Maximo always my partner in crime for handstands and always with him lovely italian Luca who would only eat pasta; sunshine and unique Camila and Oshin in love with climbing and always a kind word for everyone.
    After chasing Jamie for enough time I managed to volunteer at the hostel folding sheets for accomodation. First days I needed to recharge so for the first time in so long, I did nothing for more than a week, just sat and chat to people, go to yoga, cook... Not much really. At some point Kylian was going to drop resumés and I decided to join because it was time already... Without much effort I quickly got a few options. I really wanted to work at this cocktail bar called the den, but the job process was so long that I had to take to jobs on the meantime so I worked at the shipwrights arms hotel were Nico, a really nice guy from the hostel got me a job and the watermans hotel.
    Read more