Satellite
Show on map
  • Freiburg - day 25

    May 6, 2019 in Germany ⋅ 🌙 0 °C

    Well today was a really great day. It was beautiful and fine though pretty cool – think it got to double figures at one stage. Last night that I suggested that we do our own thing today, and that worked out really well. I got up earlier and went off biking after putting the washing on. Saw lots of fun sights in Frieburg before arriving at the market near that cathedral. I locked my bike up and looked around that for a while, then found myself at the galera for breakfast. It was really nice (and had a toilet included which is always a bonus), and had a charge per 100g for the hot food. Then I looked around a few more shops, found a shoe shop where I bought 2 pairs, and then made my way back to the market. There I found another bright green bike locked up next to mine – Jody and Jeremy had arrived there as well. I found them eating some sausage for breakfast, it is always too early for that for me. So I went off doing some more shopping looking, then biked back to Nico (unfortunately that is up a big hill), and put our sheets in the dryer. Jody and Jeremy then arrived back – Jeremy’s hire bike is not so good, so they are going to take a train to the town around 7kms, but I am going to bike there.

    So after our sheets dried, I went off on my bike to the next town, Kirchzarten, which is 7kms away. Unfortunately it is a gradual climb all the way there, but spectacular scenery being beside a river all the way. Rather funny that as soon as I got there, the first people I saw were Jody and Jeremy. We then went to a pub and had a drink (non alcoholic for me of course). Then we visited a supermarket and found such cheap berries – 2 euro for raspberries, and 0.89 for slightly older raspberries. I bought some, ate a punnet and then had to go back for more. Blueberries were 2.50 Euros for 500g – I was in heaven!

    Then J&J took the train back, and I got back on my bike. Biking back was great as it was all downhill. I stopped a few times to take pics, and got diverted a couple of times over the other side of the river for a look see, and then finally got back to Nico. I biked maybe 25 to 30kms today, so felt that I had done some exercise for a change. And then the evening really started….

    Jeremy and Jody had a card game that they wanted to play, but took forever to work out what the rules were. They even tried to ring someone in NZ to confirm – only 6am at that time! So finally we got playing, and they had an issue with the fact that I kept winning. What is their problem? There might have been a bit of Baileys and Cointreau involved as well. I don’t think Jody quite gets that I normally don’t drink at all.

    Jeremy cooked us this amazing meal with chicken – cooked in the frypan, and then the oven for around 2 hours with potato underneath it. It tasted really amazing, but I was having a bit of an issue spearing some of it on my fork, nice of Jody to com to the rescue. Then I tried to stand up – who knew that Cointreau and Baileys had such an effect?

    So I think we went to bed around 11.30 feeling slightly under the weather!
    Read more