Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 7 - Southampton - departure…or is it

    October 19, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    well…we did not depart first thing this morning as expected. Weather is still bad and the harbor was still closed. Finally did leave around noon but, unfortunately, the weather played havoc at our first stop, Hamburg, and they’ve cancelled that port. Apparently the storm has pulled the water out of the river and it’s too shallow for the ship to dock. Spent the day eating, wandering around the ship, drinking, ping pong, I took merengue lessons (sans Paul, but I found myself another partner), we won a trivia contest, more to eat, more to drink…I rediscovered mojitos 😋. Our drink package allows us a maximum of 15 drinks per day. Paul’s favorite quote from the cruise director…”15 is a goal, not a limit” 🤣. Sometime during the day the Captain came on the PA to tell us of further changes to the itinerary - Mother Nature simply is not cooperating, but it looks like we’ve traded a day in Hamburg and a day in Aarhus (Denmark) for a port that I think is reasonably close to Amsterdam and if that’s the case and we can get into Amsterdam, I’m stoked!!Read more