Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Wayalailai (Wayasewa Island)

    November 28, 2023 in Fiji ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Today I set off from mainland Fiji on the 'Yasawa Flyer'. I'd purchased a 10 day 'Bula Pass' which allowed unlimited travel to 21 different stops across the Yasawa Islands. My first destination was a homestay in the village of Wayalailai on the island of Wayasewa.

    As well as paying for the Bula Pass for the main ferry, you also had to pay 10FJD (about £3.50) to your hosts for a transfer from the ferry to where you were staying. It made me laugh that this wasn't included in the price of your stay, as if anyone is going to choose to swim 500m+ with all of their luggage across the Pacific Ocean rather than opt for the transfer.

    I snuck into the hammocks of the nearby resort and enjoyed a relaxing day with my feet up. I met my fellow homestayers for the evening from Denmark, Argentina and Australia. We ate together, watched the sunset and were also invited to join a Cava Ceremony with the village chief as part of the celebrations of a local woman's birthday.
    Read more