Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 73

    QCT Day 3 Evening

    January 12 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    This evening I checked into my 5 person shared accomodation to discover I was the only person staying there! I spoke to the owner and she said this was highly unusual and the 3 previous nights had been completely full!

    I then called the resort next door to book a table for dinner, only to be informed that there were none available. I therefore asked if there was anywhere else nearby to eat and was recommended Punga Cove, the place I'd eaten the night before and just walked 25km from. The only realistic option was to eat pasta, pasta sauce and beans found in the cupboard of my accomodation.

    Before succumbing to this fate I thought I'd head down to the resort anyway to enjoy the views out to the sounds and maybe try and walk in to the restaurant. However, there was still no space for me in the restaurant but I was able sit in the huge bar area and order bar snacks. Thankfully the bar snacks included fries and also a fish bowl. So I ordered one of each and when they arrived it could have easily fed two people! So all worked out well in the end!
    Read more