Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Coming back down

    December 19, 2017 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Mel came back from the sunrise shoot around 7 telling me it was starting to rain. Straight into action we were bringing down the tent to get on our way. Into our wet gear and we were off. It was not going to be the best day today, many hikers were coming up I doubt they will see the mountain today.

    Off we went, physiologically it is so much easier heading home, I had land marks I could tick off as we went. The wind had reduced but the rain in your face didn't help. The mountains were in total cloud was we left for home. It was a slow trek for me, luckily Mel took the tent off me for the last 4K as it would have been near impossible to traverse the downhill with the additional weight. We walked our own race down taking whatever time we needed.

    I was quite slow stopping to take some pictures and watch the occasional wood pecker along the way. It took me about 2.5 hours to get back to town. I am pleased that I may not be as unfit as I feel. But I know I need to get my fitness back to 2018 for sure.

    First stop in town was my favourite coffee house where now I am well known. The lady speaks no english and me no Spanish but we manage. Even when I cannot into the belt on my pants- I have to ask her assistance to unto me. Was a laugh. A couple of coffee and a nice cake on the house spurred me onto the hostel.

    After eating for an hour it was time to head to the spa, I got a 4 treatment session 2.5 hours for approx $100.
    . Firstly a leg wrap where the boots compress tightly then reduce
    . Next the stones run up and down your spine oh so good, quite hard but amazing
    . Next to the massage chair where your arms, legs and back are all being massaged at the same time and with different intensity.
    . Lastly into the jucuzzi for a soak watching the amazing photos taken around the region.
    . I even got a great shower and hair wash before heading back to the hostel.
    Read more