Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Travel to Vienna

    May 27, 2018 in Austria ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    What a long day when your flight is at 10:50pm. Ben purchased at Qantas lounge pass on Gumtree for $50. We were so bored so we decided to head to the airport at 6:15pm to be greeted by Luke at the Emirates counter. What a cool guy, got us into Row 19 and blocked a seat out. This section is the first of the economy seats, they don’t fill this section up.

    Headed up to Qantas Club to start the trip in style. The club was near empty so Michelle gave us special attention making Espresso Martinis and opening a bottle of Champagne for me. I’m so proud of Ben, I have to tell Michelle so here we are in the middle of Qantas Club showing a video of “Shreklesque”.

    We leave on time on the A300 a smooth take off, heading directly for Dubai. The staff were attentive, the food good. My only criticism would be breakfast arrived around 12 hours into the flight, OMG I was starving - but it was delicious. None of us slept well, and 14 hours was a long flight.

    Arrived Dubai around 8am local time. The airport was very busy, people going in every direction. I left Suzie and Ben to find the smoking area while I explored for a short time. To get from terminal C to A you need to catch a train which takes 3 minutes. I went into the Emirates Business Class lounge for a quick look. OMG I have never been in such a huge lounge. You enter the lounge and all the gates 1-24 are accessible from within the lounge. There is casual dining, fine dining, coffee areas, massage , quiet areas the list goes on. I hope I have enough time to explore this on my way home.

    Head to my gate via the lounge, confusing Suzie and Ben - they think I’m lost. We board our next flight to Vienna. This time the plane is empty and thanks to Luke in Brissie we each have a row to ourselves.

    It’s 9am local time, we are all shattered so a quick nap is necessary before the gin starts. The alcohol starts, the noise increases while we play trivia. The plane has representatives from 18 countries and 15 languages, so of course as each attendant arrives with our drinks you must guess where they are from. Soon we realise that everyone around us is now drinking, they figured we are loud - no use trying to sleep.
    Read more