Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Heading to Zakopane

    June 24, 2018 in Poland ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    There are a few objectives today, buy my overnight train ticket to Budapest and get to Zakopane on the bus.

    I’m getting pretty good at getting around Kraków now, so I catch the tram to the train station. There are multiple entries to the train station and I have to say none of them are very obvious. I think I took the long route but eventually I find the international ticket office. Buying my train ticket was pretty painless. Now to find my bus. The signs for the bus are easy to follow the problem is I can only find gates starting with. ‘D’. I need to get upstairs. You would think that would be easy but every set of stairs I take I end up at the train station. Trying to find an information booth is next to impossible.

    The only option is the ticket office, they direct me to the stairs outside. Now I am where I need to be, after. Few more questions I eventually find my gate to catch the bus from. Waiting for the bus there is no one around, yay looks like it is going to be empty. I hoped too soon, out of the blue came about 30 10year olds, just my luck.

    Arriving in Zakopane I caught the local bus to my next air BnB. What a great spot about 5 minutes walk to the main centre. I explore town, it just gets colder and colder. Gloves are my next purchase and I use my sarong as a head scarf. As the rain came down I jumped into a local polish restaurant. A great feed or steamed dumplings filled with soft sheep cheese. Wine is approx $2 for a large glass. There is even entertainment, a local group 3 violins and a cello. Very lively music for. Sunday session.

    Once the rain stops I catch the cable car up Gubałówka. The view over Zakopane and the Tatar mountains is spectacular. You can see the ski jump on the other side of the city.

    Time to head down to find a spot to watch Poland vs Colombia tonight. A few more reds I find myself cheering for a Columbia goal. Oh dear will I get out of here alive.
    Read more