Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 195

    Fork in the road

    May 10, 2019 in Montenegro ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    Billed as the most boring capital city in the world - even more boring than Canberra - I had to visit Titograd.
    Probably it was originally an Illyrian tribal centre then became Birziminium, a Roman caravan stop. It was known as Ribnica in the early Middle Ages and Podgorica from 1326; occupied by the Turks (1474), Montenegrans (1878), Austrians (1916), Italians (1941) , Germans (1943).
    Nothing much survived WWII and I am not sure if there was anything much before. At any rate, all I could see in the pouring rain was a modern provincial capital, with plenty of cafes and a working population that saves it from the insulation of Canberra. No photo opportunities though!
    Onwards and travelling the back roads out of Podgorica I came across this picturesque concrete monument. As far as I can tell it is a memorial to fallen soldiers, but which and whom I couldn't fathom.
    I copied the cryllic inscription to show to various people hoping to discover its meaning: two people read it and gave up trying to translate it so I gave up too. The import is something like "the sun has no meaning without darkness".

    Is it a tuning fork; an eating fork? Or maybe its a toasting fork: fight and you're toast or a toast to the fallen. Its all very confusing.
    Read more